The 100-Year History Of WD&D Architects

After 100 years, WD&D Architects has no shortage of stories

YOU MIGHT SAY the firm started small. In the April 27, 1919, edition of the Arkansas Gazette, printed halfway down page 14, the following notice appeared: “Geo. H. Wittenberg and Lawson L. Deloney announce the formation of a partnership for the practice of architecture under the firm name of Wittenberg & Deloney, architects. 613 A.O.U.W. Bldg.” Hemmed in by the masonry of the newspaper’s column, there would have been no reason to think that this item would have been anymore enduring than its counterparts above (“Need any stationery or envelopes”) or below (“The Rev. C.H. Mason, known as ‘Black Billy Sunday’ will continue the services at Liberty Hall until May 7”). Nowadays, while the layperson might struggle to place why they recognize the initials WD&D, the lasting impact of the firm from that six-line announcement 100 years ago is tough to understate. After all, if there’s a pantheon of iconic Little Rock structures—Central High School, Robinson Auditorium, the Stephens building, just to name a few—they’re the ones who built it. (For more information, visit wddarchitects.com.)